Frame warranty

YouTube videos, Pickle juice discussion, doping accusations, etc.

Moderator: mfarnham

JohnT

Frame warranty

Post by JohnT »

Hi everyone,

This message should not be interpreted as a criticism of Ridley. I am disappointed but that's all. My Damocles frame has been a 'workhorse' to quote Geoff W.

Yesterday Richie from Velofix put it on a stand as the first step in building a new 11-spd/Bontrager Aeolus speed machine (yes - I was too cheap to actually buy a new bike, but given that I've been wearing that red jacket for 14 years, this new gruppo + wheel set was a big step). Richie immediately discovered a crack on the front side of the integrated seat tube (I think an image is attached). He then seemed to enjoy telling me a story about a friend in Australia that had a seat tube break. What happened to his boy-bits after that is enough to give one nightmares.

So, the build came to an abrupt stop. In the 24 hours that have passed since then, two people have offered loaner bikes, so I am feeling much better. But I have also heard of a few more generous warranty replacements that put the response from Ridley (below) in perspective.

Their 5-year term is clear on the web site and the e-mail response was rapid and polite. I got that frame from Oak Bay Bike 5 years and 4 months ago. There's one other thing I should state up front. I bought a white Ridley and that was replaced for free with the black one after a year. During a service, Oak Bay Bikes decided it needed replacing - I never knew what the issue was that time.

My questions: 1. Do you have any good or bad stories about frame replacements under warranty that might be helpful to the club? 2. Do you have any frame repair stories that would help me (and others) decide when to repair and when to replace?

(POP = Proof of Purchase)

Hi John,